Baby names. What's your story? What's the name behind your child's name? #kids #baby #babynames #namemeaning #pregnancy #parenting #Kidsbloom

Baby names. What’s your story?

Kids Bloom – Parenting Advice – all about your baby, toddler, child & you!

Shortly after discovering I was pregnant I started thinking about baby names. I did what I believe most new parents do and Googled it! I couldn’t believe the results. Popular baby names, unique baby names, trending baby names, even “geeky” or “emo” baby names! Basically, you name it and I’m sure at some point I came across it.

Much like everything in life, sometimes the best names just come to you randomly when you aren’t searching for it. One day my SO said “What about Scarlett?” It brought an immediate smile to my face. Scarlett… I love it!

Scarlett colorful generated text

“Traditionally a last name for a dyer or someone who sells rich, bright fabrics, it means “bright red.” Well-known Scarletts: actress Scarlett Johansson; Scarlett O’Hara, the heroine of Gone with the Wind; Will Scarlett, Robin Hood’s sidekick.”

My father, who passed away in 2013, had the beautiful Italian last name “Scarlata” and in honor of him we decided to name our beautiful baby girl Scarlett. We also agreed on her middle name “Cecilia.” Not only was my father from Cecily, Scarlett’s great grandmothers name was also Cecilia. We were happy to have a meaning behind her name and to this day, I’m still proud when I tell about it.

Have you decided on your baby’s name yet? What’s the meaning behind your baby’s name? If you have any children, how did you come up with their name?

If you’re still on the hunt for the perfect baby name, try The Baby Name Wizard.

6 thoughts on “Baby names. What’s your story?

  1. What a beautiful story and history!! Love that name! It has such confidence! I named my son “Liam” and loved that it exuded such calm, serene consonants like the “m” at the end. I wanted a name that ensured my son would have a Disneyland keychain or other travel souvenir nameplate opportunity, which I never had! Thanks for sharing this post!

    Like

    1. Great name! With his suave and charming way about him, I’ve always thought it suited the actor, Liam Neeson as well. Something very soothing and pleasant about it. I’m sure he will grow up to be a fine young Liam! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

