Blog post about getting through life's ups and downs. #motherhood #beinspired #kidsbloom

When things don’t go your way.

Whether it’s a bad hair day, failed relationship, loss of a job or loved one, running late, the baby’s sick, or simply forgetting an ingredient listed in that recipe… you know, the one with picture of the adorably delicious looking cupcake on Pinterest. I could go on forever. Point being, that everyone goes through moments, days, sometimes years where the odds seem to go against them.

Often in my life, it appeared on the surface that things weren’t going my way. Meanwhile, other things were happening behind the scenes working in my favor and I didn’t even realize it. Ironically, none of that would have happened had I not also been experiencing what was at the time an awful thing, not getting my way!

I’ve had this personal goal for some time now that I can get to a place in my life where I am completely self sufficient, where I can take care of my daughter without having to rely on anyone else. To become a fierce, independent woman basically. Eventually, I would love to get to a place where I can make enough money to be able to spend all (well ok, not ALL) of my time with Scarlett and travel, go on adventures, etc.

I had this entire plan in mind from a-z of exactly what I needed to do in order to accomplish my goal. Along the way I started to see and experience bumps in the road. Not everything worked out as planned. In fact, lots of things that I wanted for myself simply didn’t work out the way I thought or wanted them to. Today was one of those days. I reached a breaking point and thought I’d throw in the towel. Instead, I decided to write this post to inspire myself and (hopefully) you.

Will these bumps in the road stop us from our goals? Absolutely not. Not unless we let them! It will be hard, some days or moments will seem impossible, but just because it didn’t work out MY way doesn’t mean it won’t work out at all. In fact, it’s probably best that it didn’t work out my way in the long run.Though our plans are significant to us we must realize that bigger things are at play here, and the universe has a mind of it’s own. Sometimes we don’t see it or want to jump on board with the way things are flowing. But with or without us, they are going to flow in the direction they are supposed to!

Whatever happens, it’s much better and easier in the long run to just go with it.

As Eckhart Tolle says:

“Whatever you fight, you strengthen, and what you resist, persists.”

Better to accept what this moment has to offer. You don’t have to like it, but you can choose to accept it and let the feelings flow through you. You can choose to see that there is light at the end of the tunnel. That though you may have to cross over this bump or take an entirely new route to get to where you’re going, you will still get there!

Don’t give up!

One thought on “When things don’t go your way.

Leave a Reply

